http://english.nanjing.gov.cn/ (English Version)

http://www.nj.gov.cn/ (Chinese Version)

  • Nanjing (Chinese: 南京, pinyin: Nánjīng, Wade-Giles: Nan-ching) is the capital of Jiangsu province in China and has a prominent place in Chinese history and culture, having been the capital of China on several occasions. Its present name means "Southern Capital" and was widely romanized as Nankin and Nanking until the Pinyin language reform, after which Nanjing was gradually adopted as the standard spelling of the city's name in most languages that use the Roman alphabet. Located in the lower Yangtze River drainage basin and Yangtze River Delta economic zone, Nanjing has long been one of China's most important cities. It is recognized as one of the Four Great Ancient Capitals of China. It was the capital of Sun Quan's Wu during the Three Kingdoms Period and the capital of the Republic of China prior to its flight to Taiwan during the Chinese Civil War. Nanjing is also one of the fifteen sub-provincial cities in the People's Republic of China's administrative structure, enjoying jurisdictional and economic autonomy only slightly less than that of a province. Nanjing has long been a national center of education, research, transport networks, and tourism. The city will host the 2014 Summer Youth Olympics. With an urban population of over five million (2006), Nanjing is the second-largest commercial center in the East China region after Shanghai. It has been ranked seventh in the evaluation of "Cities with Strongest Comprehensive Strength" issued by the National Statistics Bureau, and second in the evaluation of cities with most sustainable development potential in the Yangtze River Delta. It has also been awarded the title of 2008 Habitat Scroll of Honor of China, Special UN Habitat Scroll of Honour Award and National Civilized City.

  • The history of Nanjing—Jinling Emperors’ Hometown
  • The west part of the Ningzhen range is in Nanjing; the Loong-like Zhong Mountain is curling in the east of the city; the tiger-like Stone Mountain is crouching in the west of the city, hence the name “the Zhong Mountain, a dragon curling, and the Stone Mountain, a tiger crouching”. Mr. Sun Yet-sen spoke highly of Nanjing in the “Constructive Scheme for Our Country”, “The position of Nanjing is wonderful since mountains, lakes and plains all integrated in it. It is hardly to find another city like this.” With history of over 6,000 years, Nanjing has become a famous historical and cultural city since it was established 2,500 years ago. Since the 3rd Century AD, 10 dynasties and regimes made Nanjing the capital and established the country: Wu, Eastern Jin, Southern Dynasties (Sung, Qi, Liang, Chen), Southern Tang, Ming, Taiping Heavenly Kingdom and the Republic of China, hence the titles “Ancient Capital for Six Dynasties” and “Capital City for Ten Dynasties”. The history has left abundant Chinese historical and cultural relics in Nanjing.

  • Zhongshan Hill Scenic Area
  • Situated in the eastern suburb of Nanjing, it is the most prestigious sightseeing area of the city, covering more than 50 major sites such as Dr. Sun Yat-sen's Mausoleum, Xiaoling Tomb of the Ming Dynasty, Plum Blossom Hill, Purple Mountain Observatory, Nanjing Botanical Garden, Lingu Temple, Xuanwu Lake Park, Tiacheng Wall, Jiuhuashan Park and Jiming Temple.

  • Qinhuai Scenic Area
  • Situated in the south of Nanjing, the area, covering the Qinhuai River's inner strip from Dongshui Pass in the east to the Xishui Pass in the west, has many scenic spots including Confucius Temple-Qinhuai Scenic Zone, Zhanyuan Garden, and the Urn City of Zhonghua Gate.

State Key Laboratory of Mechanics and Control of Mechanical Structures

Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Nanjing 210016, China

Tel: +86-25-84895115

E-mail: ts2013@nuaa.edu.cn